Multiple Species Conservation Plan (MSCP)

The Multiple Species Conservation Plan (MSCP) preserves San Diego's native habitats and wildlife for future generations. It works across political boundaries, providing a unique framework for region-wide conservation efforts – balancing them with streamlined building regulations and permit processes to support healthy community growth.

The MSCP ensures compliance with the Federal Endangered Species Act, State Endangered Species Act, and State Natural Communities Conservation Planning Act.

View the 2015/2016 Report
View past reports from 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012 and 2011.

The goal of the MSCP plan is to acquire or permanently protect 98,379 acres in the unincorporated area of San Diego's South County. In the 11 years since the MSCP South County Subarea Plan was approved, thousands of acres of land have been added to the MSCP by local, State and Federal agencies. The overall effect of the MSCP is that it provides for large, connected preserve areas that address a number of species needs at the habitat level (rather than species-by-species or area-by-area). This creates a more efficient and effective preserve system as well as better protection for the rare, threatened and endangered species in the region. Major programs are in place to manage, maintain and monitor plant and animal life on the lands once they are in the preserve in order to ensure the conservation of their unique resources.

County Parks manages County-owned land within the MSCP. Management activities include but are not limited to trash removal, passive recreation, ranger patrol, signage and fencing, fire management, non-native plant species removal and cultural resource protection. 

To view information regarding specific lands managed and monitored by the County, please click on one of the following links:

Parks/Preserves Open to the Public:

  • Barnett Ranch Preserve
  • Del Dios Highlands Preserve
  • El Capitan Preserve
  • El Monte County Park
  • Hellhole Canyon Preserve
  • Lakeside Linkage County Preserve
  • Louis Stelzer County Park
  • Lusardi Creek County Preserve
  • Oakoasis County Preserve
  • Ramona Grasslands County Preserve
  • Santa Margarita County Preserve
  • Santa Ysabel County Preserve
  • Simon County Preserve
  • Stoneridge Preserve
  • Sycamore Canyon Goodan Ranch County Preserve
  • Tijuana River Valley Regional Park
  • Wilderness Gardens County Preserve
  • William Heise County Park 

Parks/Preserves Closed to the Public:

  • Boulder Oaks Preserve
  • Escondido Creek Preserve*
  • Furby-North Property*
  • Laurence and Barbara Daley Preserve 
  • Mt. Olympus Preserve*
  • Otay Ranch Preserve
  • Sage Hill Preserve
  • San Luis Rey River Park
*Preserves located outside of the South County MSCP Subarea Plan boundaries